Homeownership

Unnecessary Appliance?

We have a phenomenon at our house nearly every day: we never know if the dishes in the dishwasher are actually clean, or if they just look clean.  See, we are the type of people who practically wash the dishes before they are ever placed in the dishwasher.  While you may never worry about finding traces of food on our dishes and glasses if you came to our house for a visit, this curious occurrence at our house has become quite a bother day after day after day.

My mother used to drive me crazy double-checking my dishwasher loading when I was younger!  She wanted me to do exactly what I said I’d never do…and yes, now that I have my own house and I even own my own dishwasher, my dishes are scrubbed, often with dish soap, before they are put into the thing to be washed yet again.  So do we even need it?  I think not, but in reality, who would buy a house in 2010 that didn’t have a dishwasher?  I wouldn’t.  It must be some sort of the American homeowner’s attachment to superfluous items or something.  I know I’m not the only one.

Many things that irritated me growing me up in my parents house I have gained a healthy appreciation for in my somewhat older and [hopefully] somewhat wiser age.  And now my mother has the last laugh…with many more to come, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

