Life / Uncategorized

Stuck in a Rut?

It’s interesting to me how many people my age I hear talking about “losing focus”, getting “caught in a rut” and such. Many of these are people I went to college with or others who have excelled in one area or another, not just those who seem to have little ambition in life. And honestly, it’s me as well. 

What is it about this time in our lives? Is it simply a phase of life? Is it the town we live in? Is it that we desperately need a re-evaluation of ourselves and our lives? I have asked myself question after question and I could go on and on with them. But in short, I’d have to say the answer is yes to all of them. 

I should add, as well, that I am happy! This is not a “welcome to my pity party” post. I’m blessed by God beyond belief with a wonderfully devoted husband, a beautiful baby on the way, a house to decorate, art to create, thoughts to write, family and friends, blessed with all of this and so much more that makes my life rich in every way…and yet I know this is not “it”. 

There is so much more I want out of myself, out of my life and I know I’m not alone. Ironically, as I have been sitting here writing at my favorite coffee shop, I’ve been [happily] interrupted by two friends telling me the same thing…they, too, are “stuck in a rut” and are unsure of how to navigate out. It’s an astonishingly typical topic of conversation for many I know. 

This too shall pass. And really, what an opportunity for ANYTHING to result out of this place in our lives! With God’s help and wisdom, I believe it will all work together for our good. And we will all look back on this time in our lives and it will become a testament for us of His faithfulness and an encouragement of His blessing on diligence and perseverance. 

(I should add, as well, this post was largely inspired by one of my best friend’s blog post this morning.  Thanks, Candace.) 

3 thoughts on “Stuck in a Rut?

  1. More than happy to help you out Shannon!

    You are totally right, I have come to think of our mid 20’s (wierd to type that) as a time of contemplation. But the best thing of all is I figure if we are thinking of this now we wont get to be 40 and have a flip out midlife crisis because we worked on figuring it out much younger so really we are just ahead of the curve!

    P.S. You better be drinking decaf at that favorite coffee shop because thats my nephew your taking care of!

    • Haha! I’m allowed to drink one cup of coffee a day now, as long as I add that much more water to my daily intake! Just the first trimester I wasn’t supposed to drink any!

  2. I love the way your friend thinks! And I love the way you think. If you have not spied my blog lately most all my posts are “rut” posts LoL. I think sometimes when you know you are happy and have faith that God is good… that is enough to carry us through. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve handled myself terribly in my ruts, but mostly I learn something new about myself… that is just part of growing and stretching. You think? Thanks for posting this! <3

Leave a Reply

