Christianity / Family / Life / Pregnancy

I’m His Mommy

30 week 3D UltrasoundYesterday we got to see our Baby Judah!  By the way, he’s the adorable one above who’s sucking in part of his lip…yeah, right there.  That’s my baby! 

Oh dear, seriously, I can see that I might possibly be the annoying kind of parent people roll their eyes at behind my back.  You know the “I Love Lucy” episode where Ricky and Lucy get into a tiff with their good friends over “whose kid is cuter, smarter, funnier, etc.”?  Hmmm…I don’t really want to be like that, but I can definitely understand how it happens! 

We had an ultrasound just to check everything out and he’s still doing great.  Our technician was extremely thorough and took multiple pictures of him to send to our midwife.  It took almost an hour and every detail was documented.

Each time I see him, I’m aware of how completely awesome this miracle is inside of me.  I remember the first ultrasound at 9 weeks, when he was a tiny peanut-looking creature, thinking how delicate this process is of a new life being formed.  And now at this 30 week point he has changed and continued to be formed in unfathomable ways that I knew would come, but to see and feel it happen first-hand is nearly incomprehensible to me. 

I have noticed that in experiencing the most beautiful things in life as well as the most awful, in both types of situations I am so drawn to the reality of eternity.  I don’t think that’s a coincidence.  It’s the best and worst of life that really pulls our heart’s strings in recognition of what’s built into us at our very cores.

Leave a Reply

