Recipes

Pecan- and Panko-Crusted Chicken

So I’m in love with my new iPhone 4!  That thing is a mini computer and has turned out to be a great investment, not just a fun toy.  I love discovering interesting Apps and I’m happy to say that the majority of Apps I’ve downloaded are actually incredibly useful, although of course there are some that are just pure fun. 

One of the first Apps I got was for Epicurious.  Epicurious.com is a compilation of recipes from the Conde Nast magazine family that includes Bon Appetit, Self, Gourmet, Parade, Nutrition Data and Random House.  The Epicurious App is awesome and super user-friendly!

The first recipe I tried was a hit!  I was looking for something out of the ordinary and kind of fancy-ish…it was actually the first meal I cooked for Nathan and I since our baby was born, so I was really itching to get back in the kitchen.  I needed a semi-easy recipe and one that didn’t require a ton of time.  And so Pecan- and Panko-Crusted Chicken fit the bill:

Ingredients

4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

1/2 cup Panko

1 /2 cup finely chopped pecans

6 T butter

1/4 cup chopped green onions

3/4 cup chicken broth

2 T chopped fresh parsley

Now, as a forewarning, I NEVER follow a recipe completely.  I just can’t do it.  I have to tweak it somehow.  Ok, if it’s a finicky something like cheesecake or another thing that has to be made just so, I will follow the recipe the FIRST time…and then after that I guarantee you I can find a way to get around it.  I have to laugh because my mother follows recipes to a T!  Seriously, she follows them so closely it makes me crazy.  We’ve had some funny conversations about recipes seeing how we’ve got such different approaches.  I used to hate giving people recipes because I can’t just put “a lot of oregano, a little basil”…it doesn’t satisfy people.  They always ask “What’s a lot?” and “What do you mean by a little?”  I don’t know!  I just throw it in til it tastes right!  But I’m better now.  I can write out an actual recipe without people needing me to clarify 3 times. 

So, all of that was to say that some of the above ingredients and measurements have been tampered with.  If you want to see the original recipe, here’s the link: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Pecan-and-Panko-Crusted-Chicken-Breasts-235598 .  All I changed was the amounts of Panko and pecans (the original recipe calls for 1 cup of each which was way too much), I used green onions instead of shallots and the original calls for low-sodium chicken broth, which I didn’t use.  I used Better Than Bouillon chicken base to make my broth which is not low-sodium, but it is packed with flavor.  Do yourself a favor and try this stuff…you’ll never use regular bouillon again and you’ll never buy pre-made chicken broth, either. 

Anyways, here’s the Method:

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper. Mix panko and pecans in dish.  Melt 4 T butter in skillet over medium-high heat.  Remove skillet from heat; brush some of melted butter onto chicken, then coat chicken in panko mixture.  Place skillet over medium heat.  Add chicken and sauté until brown on bottom, about 2 minutes.  Place chicken in baking dish.  Bake until chicken is cooked through, about 18 minutes.

Meanwhile, using aslotted spoon, remove any crumbs from skillet.  Add remaining 2 T butter and green onions; sauté over medium-high heat 1 minute.  Add broth and simmer until slightly reduced, about 1 minute.  Mix in parsley. Season sauce to taste with salt and pepper; drizzle over chicken.

I served the chicken and sauce over orrechiette pasta which I’d never had before, but enjoyed very much.  Orrechiette is chewier in texture than most pasta and looks like turtle shells.

The only other things I will do differently with this recipe next time will be to thicken the sauce slightly and remember to take a picture! 

Give this recipe a try…it’s easy and not too time-consuming either.  This one’s a keeper and a great dish for company!

2 thoughts on “Pecan- and Panko-Crusted Chicken

  1. Wow, that does sound easy! I think I’ll try it…hey, btw, I don’t follow EVERY recipe to the T!!! HAHA…no, I really don’t! Spaghetti sauce and Stroganoff I don’t!!!! Hey, love ya girl, so glad you actually LIKE cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

