Family / Holidays / Life / Memories

Anticipating Another Holiday Season

Although I said a few times that I would not be having Thanksgiving at my house this year (simply due to the fact that we now have a baby), I’ve decided that I actually am up for it.  It’s like the Thanksgiving episodes of Friends where Monica always says she’s not cooking Thanksgiving dinner…but she always caves.  So let the planning begin!

I absolutely love the holidays: I love the festivities, the get-togethers, the lights, the decorations, the music, the memories, I could go on and on!  To me, Thanksgiving is the beginning of the Christmas season.  Now, some people may disagree (yes, I’m talking about you, Candace), but it really is.  No one will convince me otherwise.

We live in a very small house…not exactly what you’d consider perfect for entertaining, but I

L.

O.

V.

E.

 lots of people in small spaces for holidays!  It’s homey and cozy.  One day I’d love to live in a house geared more to entertaining, but for now I’ll enjoy our tiny home. 

So, Thanksgiving at our house.  I’m tempted to do an unconventional, non-traditional dinner, but how do you think that would really go?  I mentioned it to my husband and, easy going as he is, he’s totally fine with that…just as long as we do sweet potatoes.  Actually he said yams.  But in my family even if you buy yams at the store (which we do), they’re always called sweet potatoes once you fix them.  Well…sweet potatoes, yams or whatever you prefer to call them…that’s a traditional dish.  So I don’t know what to do.  I feel like if we’re going to do one traditional dish, we might as well make it an entire traditional meal.  So…

I still really want to make some out-of-the-ordinary things.  Oh come on, you traditionalists!  I’m not talking about anchovy pie or slug soup.   I don’t want to hear it from everyone about Thanksgiving dinner not seeming like Thanksgiving dinner.  Honestly, I don’t even like turkey that much.  Except I had help over the phone from my grandma and Candace last Thanksgiving and our turkey turned out absolutely wonderful!  Truly the best I’ve ever had.

This planning part is half the fun, so I’ll just continue thinking about it over in my head and looking for ideas until I have to make a decision.  Which will be pretty soon as Thanksgiving is only a week away!  Yikes!

Regardless of what we have to eat, where we’re at and the anticipation of the festivities to come, let us not forget what Thanksgiving and Christmas are really all about.  Everything else dims in comparison when we consider the rich blessings of our Heavenly Father that fill our lives.

4 thoughts on “Anticipating Another Holiday Season

  1. I still love you even though you are totally wrong about Thanksgiving! Can’t wait to hear all about the fun you have this year, last years stories and pictures were awesome! LOVE YA Chicka

  2. I’m with Tina!!! LOL, remember, I actually wanted to do something like that….non-traditional when I thought I would step out and actually cook the Thanksgiving meal….but thank the good Lord, (and you) I don’t even have to worry about it now! HaHa….I will help tho, just let me know what you want me to bring! I love ya darlin!

Leave a Reply

