Recipes

Chicken with Lemon, Mint and Spices

I found another excellent, healthy recipe worth sharing!  I made it last night for us and tonight I’m taking another batch to a family from our church because the wife has just recently returned home from the hospital. I love that our church does this because I:

1.    L.O.V.E. to cook

2.    Enjoy blessing others

3.    WE were the recipients of this kind of help after Judah was born and the LAST thing on our minds was what we were having for dinner every night…it was a HUGE blessing to us and lasted nearly three weeks!

Anyways, this Chicken with Lemon, Mint and Spices is super fast and really simple.  It’s also the only recipe I’ve ever made that calls for broiling.  I’ve broiled things before, but have usually been disappointed. This chicken, however, I was not disappointed with at all.

Ingredients:

Zest of 1 lemon

½ cup fresh lemon juice (about
2 large lemons)

1/3 cup lemon oil or olive oil

2 tablespoons finely shredded
fresh mint leaves

2 garlic cloves, minced

½ teaspoon paprika

½ teaspoon ground cumin

¼ teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground
pepper

4 chicken breasts

Lemon wedges for garnish

Preparation:

Stir together the zest, lemon juice, oil, mint, garlic, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper in a large bowl.  Divide mixture into 2 bowls. Reserve one
bowl. Add the chicken to the other bowl and turn to coat.  Allow to stand at room temperature at least 30 minutes, turning occasionally.

Preheat the broiler.  Place the chicken on the broiler pan with the rack 4-5 inches away from the broiler. Broil each side for about 5 minutes on each side, until golden brown and cooked through.

Drizzle remaining lemon mixture over chicken, garnish with lemon wedges and serve!

The only thing I will change about this the next time I make it is I will double the fresh mint leaves.  We love the flavor of mint and I think adding more will balance the strength of the lemon flavor a little more.

I would suggest serving this chicken over multi- or whole-grain pasta, brown rice or couscous for a delicious, healthy meal.  I served it over Barilla Plus Farfalle (bowtie) pasta last night and it was perfect.  I really like the Barilla Plus line because it’s loaded with protein, ALA Omega-3 and fiber.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

