Recipes

Roasted Tomatoes, Arugula and Chicken

 

 

 

 

So last night I tried another great recipe with a fresh, Mediterranean flair.  Of course, I made some changes of my own, partially out of necessity and partially because that’s what I do!

Ingredients:

2 (12 oz) bags of cherry tomatoes

2 Tablespoons olive oil

5 fresh garlic cloves, coarsely chopped

3/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 cups cooked and shredded chicken

½ cup water

6 cups arugula leaves

Feta cheese for topping

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 475 F.  Toss tomatoes, olive oil, garlic and red pepper together in a bowl.  Transfer to a rimmed baking sheet.  Sprinkle salt and pepper over mixture. Roast until tomatoes are soft and beginning to brown in places, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes.

Transfer tomato mixture, including juices, to a large skillet.  Add chicken to skillet and simmer about 5 minutes.  Add a half cup of water to the
skillet.  Add arugula to skillet and allow to wilt about 30 seconds while stirring.

Top with feta and enjoy!

I served this over a little Penne pasta and Nathan and I loved this dish, and would be just as good on it’s own without the pasta, as well.  I like spicy food so I increased the crushed red pepper to 1 teaspoon and added even more to my own serving because it was still pretty mild to me.

The recipe said nothing about the tomatoes popping open in the oven, so I was kind of surprised, but obviously they’re going to do this at 475 F so don’t be alarmed.

I could not for the life of me find plain arugula and I was not about to go traipsing from store to store to maybe find some, maybe not with a cranky baby, so I grabbed a spinach/arugula mix from the salad section and it worked beautifully.  Some people may hesitate at this ingredient, but it adds something to these recipes that would be missing otherwise and it’s worth at least a try if you’ve never had them before.

A little crumbled feta adds a bit more pizazz and completes this meal, but I could see using parmesan if your taste buds can’t handle the zing of feta.

Now, if only I had served it outside on a patio overlooking the Mediterranean Sea at sunset…we’d be sitting at a table for two, our bare feet on terra cotta tiles, warm breeze blowing….

I will definitely be making this meal again!

Leave a Reply

