Family / Life / Memories / Motherhood

A Girl’s Best Friend

I have some of the best friends in the world, one being my wonderful mom.  When my brother and I were growing up and we’d get sassy with her, our dad would chide us saying “You better watch it, your mother’s the best friend you’ll ever have in the world.”  And as with most other things, he was right.
Although Mom and I have gone through some really rough times here and there over the years as any mother-daughter relationship usually does, we’ ve had it pretty good overall.  From my earliest memories of her, she has been a constant confidante, nurturer, teacher and my biggest fan.  I’m incredibly blessed to have her in my life.
Every single night until I moved out of the house, she would “tuck me in” to bed and often we would talk about whatever was on our minds, sometimes for just a few moments, sometimes for quite awhile, and she would always pray with me.  If I could count on anything, I could count on that connection at the end of every day. The significance of those memories I continue to carry with me now.
Mom and I have always shared a sense of humor that, in their seriousness, Dad and Brandon, my brother, have always kind of rolled their eyes at.  One day she and I were in the car driving down the road, talking about who knows what and all of a sudden, I spotted a Chinese restaurant that we had passed many times before, but it was the sign that caught my eye: “Lunc Special.”  Now, I should preface this by saying that we were going about 45 miles per hour down the street, so you’re bound to misinterpret something along the way.  Secondly, although my mom is not a real picky eater, she has never been a fan of Chinese food.  I should also add that I am a VERY picky eater and I do love Chinese food, but I have to know exactly what it is that I’m eating.
It’s always been a joke in our family that you’ve gotta be careful at Chinese restaurants because unless they have those excellent little signs identifying each dish (love those things!), you never really know what it might be.  I know it’s a joke, but seriously…you know it’s true.  And who even knows if that really is chicken and not…well, something less desirable that can pass for chicken with all that sauce on it.  There have been a lot of foreign restaurants preparing questionable things over the years.
Anyways, when we saw that sign, alarms immediately went off in my head.  LUNG SPECIAL???!!!  Oh. My. Lord.  I so KNEW it!!!  They DO serve crazy stuff!  My mom and I looked at each other wide-eyed and open-mouthed, laughing hysterically.
“Turn around, I have to see that again!” I shouted at her.  She whipped the car around and this time our eyes were focused on that sign.
Well, we were almost a little disappointed when we discovered that the “h” off of the word “Lunch” had fallen off and they weren’t really serving lungs because that would have just been hilarious and disgusting all at once, but we laughed all the way home with tears streaming down our faces.  It’s one of our favorite memories.
The silly times together with my mom, the times we can just talk on and on without reservation and all the other times in between are the ones I love.  She has made all the difference in the kind of person and mother I have become.  How do you put into words what it means to have a mom like that?
If you were to ask her she would tell you there’s not a lot she’s really good at, but I know the truth.
She’s really amazing at being a mother.  And now a grand-mother.

4 thoughts on “A Girl’s Best Friend

  1. Oh my gosh beautiful daughter….thank you darlin….this means the world to me….how very, very special! Words can’t even explain what I’m feeling right now…. I love you so much…..

    • Shannon how very beautiful. You have grown into such a beautiful young lady and a very perfect little mother. So proud of you darling, and I know your Mom must be. P.S. Shannon, how about the Korean restaurant in Dallas? I don’t think we recognized anything did we? Ha

      • Haha! Grandma, I always think of that place when I think of the “lung” story!!! I’ve tried to tell people how crazy that was, but there are no words! NOTHING was even slightly familiar-looking!!! :)

Leave a Reply

