Recipes

Chicken Stuffed with Apples, Cheddar & Fresh Thyme

 

We really do eat other things besides chicken, I promise! You’d never know it from the recipes I post, though.  It’s a good, lean protein and we enjoy it.  I’ve been working on some of my own original recipes instead of constantly working from someone else’s and it’s going really well; I always tweak recipes anyways, so I figured I should give it a shot.

Last week we had Nathan’s family over for dinner and I decided to try out one of my new concoctions.  Daring, I know.  My grandpa always says never to try out a new recipe on company — I should heed the words of the wise, but so far I’ve never served company something less than desirable ( as far as I know)!  So anyways, I baked chicken stuffed with a spinach, artichoke and parmesan mixture and crusted it with pine nuts.  I also made a simple marinara to go with it.  It was great and got me thinking of other things I could stuff chicken with since we do have it so often at our house.

Yesterday I made chicken stuffed with apples, cheddar and fresh thyme.  It was delicious!  I’m tucking this in my “Serve to Company” file. When we were dating, I would cook every Monday night for Nathan, but it was always a surprise…he never knew what was for dinner until we sat down to eat.  It’s one of our favorite traditions we don’t do as much anymore, but last night I surprised him and it was fun!

I finally bought a meat mallet not long ago and now I’m wondering how in the world I’ve gone this long without one.  That one tool has opened up a multitude of possibilities!  Instead of having to butterfly chicken breasts like I always used to do when stuffing them, I now can flatten them in a reasonably short amount of time (which I was surprised by the first time I did it…I expected it to take much longer). Plus, it’s much more entertaining for Judah if I’m whacking chicken over and over again as opposed to slowly cutting slits in each piece of meat.  But I digress.

This recipe is definitely more time-consuming to prep, but it’s worth it for a special occasion, entertaining or those nights you just feel like playing chef.

 

Ingredients:

4 Chicken Breasts, pounded with a meat mallet to ¼ inch thickness

1 Granny Smith Apple, thinly sliced

1 cup SharpCheddar Cheese, grated

2 teaspoons fresh Thyme leaves and sprigs of fresh Thyme for garnish

2 eggs

¾ cup seasoned bread crumbs

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400F.  Spray baking dish with cooking spray.  Put eggs in a bowl and whisk lightly with a fork.  Put bread crumbs in a separate bowl.  Set aside.

Take a chicken breast and sprinkle cheese in the center.  Place a quarter of the apple slices on top of cheese.  Sprinkle fresh thyme leaves over
apple slices.  Sprinkle a little more cheese on top.  Roll chicken and secure with a toothpick.

Dip chicken roll in the eggs.  Transfer to bread crumbs and coat.  Set aside.  Repeat for each chicken breast.

Place empty baking dish in preheated oven for 5 minutes.  Remove dish from oven and transfer prepared chicken rolls to dish, seam side down.  Return to oven and bake chicken for 25-30 minutes.

Allow to set 5 minutes.  Slice chicken into ½ inch slices, move to warmed plates, garnish with fresh thyme sprigs and enjoy!

Fresh thyme is very aromatic and flavorful so don’t overdo it when sprinkling the herb in the filling; you can always use the garnish for adding more if needed.  Also, when using fresh thyme, you must pick the leaves off the twiggy stems which is a pain in the butt because they are so
tiny, however, fresh thyme is much better than dried for a recipe like this.

I served this chicken dish with salad and wild rice pilaf.  We loved it and I hope you do, as well!

 

8 thoughts on “Chicken Stuffed with Apples, Cheddar & Fresh Thyme

  1. Awww….I remember when you used to cook for Nathan every Monday night before you got married….that was so sweet….oh, that cracked me up about the mallet being so entertaining for Judah while you whack your chicken to death!!! HaHa!!! Anyway….it sure looks and sounds delicious!!! I will have to print this one off too! I am so happy you love to cook, AND you are an awesome cook….

  2. All the photos look DELICIOUS! Very artsy & professional! And I’ve got to find a meat mallet like this. Mine is wood with a metal plate on each end of the mallet part ~ the down side being that the head does not always stay attached ~ making it a daring and time consuming adventure to use. I’ve been experimenting more too ~ but mostly stick to other people’s recipes. I’ll add this one to the list…

    • Thank you! Haha I remember my mom’s mallet being wooden (but without the metal parts) and the head would fall off every time! Funny thing is, I think I saw it in a kitchen drawer not too long ago.

  3. Pingback: Chicken Stuffed with Apples, Cheddar & Fresh Thyme (via MotifBrophy) | My Grandparent's Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Chicken Stuffed with Feta and Pears | merveilleux sans gluten

Leave a Reply

