Recipes

Chipotle Shredded Beef

Here it is, folks; finally a recipe post for something other than chicken!  I’m a huge fan of Chipotle restaurants (which we don’t have in Alaska), especially their Barbacoa Beef.  So when I moved back to Alaska a few years ago I decided to search for a similar recipe.  I found an excellent one, but unfortunately I don’t remember where from, so I cannot give credit where credit is due.  Whoever you are, thank you for this awesome knock-off copycat recipe.  I can now pretend that I don’t live in Podunkville, Alaska where there exist no Chipotle restaurants, if only for a few minutes while I savor the flavor of this amazing shredded beef!

Ingredients:

1/3 cup Apple Cider Vinegar

3 Tablespoons Lime Juice

4 Chipotle Peppers, canned in Adobo Sauce

4 Cloves of Garlic

½ White Onion

3 teaspoons dried Mexican Oregano

4 teaspoons ground Cumin

½ teaspoon ground Cloves

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

3-4 pound Chuck Roast, cut into smaller sections and trimmed of excess fat

1 cup Chicken Broth

3 Bay Leaves

Salt to taste

Preparation:

In a food processor, combine the vinegar, lime juice, peppers, garlic, onion, oregano, cumin and cloves, pureeing until smooth.  Set aside.

In a large pot, brown each section of roast in the olive oil.  Pour pureed mixture and chicken broth over meat.  Add bay leaves and salt.

Cover and simmer 6 hours.  Turn meat once every hour.  Meat will begin falling apart after about 4 hours.  If necessary, add small amounts of water to keep the meat nearly covered until the very end; you can then let the water simmer down until it becomes more of a sauce, stirring occasionally.

Like I said above, this recipe is so similar to Chipotle’s Barbacoa Beef it’s crazy!  Chipotle peppers are pretty spicy, so if you’re making this for your family, keep in mind you may want to add a little bit less.  We had this on taco salad and it was yummy!  It would also be perfect for burritos, tostadas, enchiladas, etc.

I’ve never used Mexican Oregano before, and honestly, it did smell slightly different, but I don’t know that I could really tell in the end.  And no, that isn’t sour cream on my salad…it’s Greek Yogurt.  I’ve been substituting Greek Yogurt for sour cream and I can’t tell the difference at all, except in Beef Stroganoff.  I made it last week and although it tasted exactly the same, it didn’t melt into the stroganoff like sour cream does; it looked kind of particle-y.

Enjoy this Chipotle-style knock-off!

4 thoughts on “Chipotle Shredded Beef

  1. Oh my gosh…that sounds and looks so delish! I’m gonna print this one off too! I never even heard of Mexican Oregano…..hmmmm
    Or, you could just make this for me too…haha!!

  2. Pingback: Stuffed Poblano Peppers | merveilleux sans gluten

Leave a Reply

