Recipes

Fruit Smoothie

Some of you have asked for an actual recipe for the non-fat, high-protein fruit smoothie I’ve mentioned in a couple of my previous posts, so here it is in all it’s glorious simplicity!

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup skim milk (43 calories, 4 grams protein)

1 cup non-fat Greek yogurt (130 calories, 23 grams protein!)

1 cup frozen fruit (64 calories)

1 Tablespoon Light Agave Nectar (60 calories)

Preparation:

Put it all in the blender and blend until smooth!

 

I buy Brown Cow all natural non-fat plain Greek Yogurt and it is the only brand I’ve found to have such a high protein content and I also think it tastes the best by far.  This recipe makes one 16 oz. smoothie.  Feel free to tweak the amounts to get your smoothie to the perfect consistency and taste for your preferences!

3 thoughts on “Fruit Smoothie

  1. sounds yum! where did you get the agave nectar? that may be a silly question. We just tried the Greek Yogurt, wasn’t so crazy about Plain and Honey but we liked it with fruit. Seems like such a healthier choice, it is much more filling. :) i’m anxious to try some of your recipes ;) just gotta get braver in my cooking skills ;) thanks for posting shannon!

    • You can get Agave Nectar at just about any natural food store or natural food section in the regular supermarket. At our store it’s near the honey, peanut butter, jams and jellies. I never eat yogurt except in these smoothies because I really don’t like it. But the fruit flavors in the smoothie totally cover up that tanginess of yogurt that I hate. Greek yogurt is a lot more filling and I think that is mostly because of the high protein content.
      Most of the recipes I post are easy enough, even if they are sometimes time-consuming. I hope you like some of the recipes when you try them! I’m sure you’ll do perfectly.

Leave a Reply

