Recipes

Honey-Glazed Brussels Sprouts

I love logging into my WordPress account and discovering comments on my blog posts from people I don’t know; I love comments from people I know, as well, but I love the fact that strangers have somehow stumbled across my blog and found whatever I’ve posted worthy of commenting!

I had one such pleasant surprise the other day on my Mediterranean meal post of three recipes.  The person happened to be a blogger, also, but kindly refrained from plugging his or her own blog and simply commented on my photograph of delicious-looking garlic.  Naturally, when I saw that the person was a WordPress blogger, I was intrigued and so I wandered over to their site and found the most divine recipe for Brussels Sprouts, which I happen to love even plain, so this recipe is really something special for those of you who enjoy sprouts any old way and for some of you who will venture to try this unique recipe.

If you know me, I can’t adhere to recipes completely, so below is my version of Honey-Glazed Brussels Sprouts, inspired by the original recipe that can be viewed at this link: http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/honey-glazed-brussel-sprouts/

Ingredients:

1 1/2 pounds Brussels Sprouts, outer leaves removed and hard stems trimmed off

Water

2 Tablespoons Butter

1/4 cup Honey

1 teaspoon Allspice

Preparation:

Place steamer basket in the bottom of large pot.  Add water until it hits right below the bottom of the basket.  Bring to a boil.  Add Brussels Sprouts to basket and steam about 7 minutes.

In a large skillet, melt butter.  Add honey and allspice.  Transfer sprouts to skillet and toss in glaze until it begins to thicken, about 2 more minutes.

Enjoy!

If you viewed the original recipe, you’ll see it doesn’t call for steaming, but I prefer to steam most vegetables.  Next time I want to try a different combination of spices.  Any way you do it, this is a simple recipe for an excellent side dish!

4 thoughts on “Honey-Glazed Brussels Sprouts

  1. Ok darlin…now this sounds really good, even tho you know I don’t really like brussels sprouts…I have always eaten 3 just cause they are good for me….but you know me, I don’t go to a bunch of trouble to cook, so can you use frozen brussels, or do I have to use fresh?? HaHa!! Just curious…..seems much simpler to use frozen!!!

    • Mom, you could probably used frozen sprouts that have been thawed…I don’t know, but it sure would be faster since you shouldn’t have to trim or take the outer leaves off.

  2. LOVE me some sprouts, thanks for posting the recipe. I think frozen would work but fresh ones really taste so much better!

Leave a Reply

