Christianity / Life

A Wicked Man is Dead

I started this post the first time I typed it with “I hesitate to share my thoughts on Osama Bin Laden’s death because…” but what point is there in writing it if I’m doing it halfheartedly? So I’ll start again.

Jesus came to seek and to save that which was lost, did He not? Wasn’t Osama Bin Laden just about as lost as a person can get? God alone be the judge, but wickedness is proved in action.

I understand that many people are rejoicing today in a new sense of closure for families affected by this man and justice served where it is due. May their healing be complete and justice always prevail.

But Christians, let our minds and hearts not be so hardened that we, in the name of “patriotism” rejoice in what God is grieved by. God speaks to Israel in Ezekiel 33:11(MSG) about this:

“Tell them, ‘As sure as I am the living God, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked. I want the wicked to change their ways and live. Turn your life around! Reverse your evil ways!'”

God sent Jesus as our Savior that we all might believe in Him. He bore the sins of Osama Bin Laden just as He bore mine. That is our Heavenly Father’s heart: He gave His only Son, knowing that some would choose to believe and some would not.

When we dwell on His love, it changes our perspective.

One thought on “A Wicked Man is Dead

  1. And yes, I absolutely support our troops. I’m thankful for their service and also I’m thankful that this man is no longer a threat. I hope the demise of his leadership is a catalyst to help everything he led and stood for crumble to the ground.

Leave a Reply

