Family / Motherhood / Relocation

A Mini Quilt for Our Mini Brophy

Planning for our 4000 mile move from Alaska to Texas via planes, in cars on freeways and a few major cities with a 10 1/2 month old baby got my creative juices flowing a couple of weeks ago. I started wracking my brain for ideas of ways to keep Judah entertained for our journey. He’s such a happy, friendly baby and I know he’ll do well traveling, but I needed an inventive idea that would be fun for him when other things just aren’t entertaining him. This blankie is the product of my creativity.

I incorporated some of his favorite things into it. Judah loves tags! He will study, flick and turn them back and forth for an unbelievable amount of time; I think this is a sign of his inheritance of Mommy’s and Daddy’s analytical minds. I cut off tags from toys, towels and clothes and sewed them into the quilt.

He also loves strings. He’s like a cat. I can’t believe I just typed that. I despise cats. Oh well, I digress. So I added ribbon and strings of different colors and materials to the blankie for him to pull til his heart’s content.

He loves sparkly things like my jewelry so I sewed on buttons of various sizes and colors, too, some sparkly, some wooden and some just regular ‘ole buttons. The variety will keep his attention for quite awhile.

I also made a loop for attaching toys so they can’t fall on the disgusting airplane floor and Nathan and I won’t have to pick them up constantly for four hours on each flight.

I used a fuzzy ball fringe to add to the interest of the blankie. He will love the way they feel in his chubby little hands.

This mini quilt measures a little less than one square foot so it will easily go back into the carry-on and will be light to carry. It’s rich with color, texture and entertainment for our active baby Judah! I can’t wait for him to see it for the first time…he’ll have to wait til we get on the plane!

I love creating things of all kinds, but there’s nothing better than creating something special for someone you love!

20110628-114505.jpg

20110628-114809.jpg

20110628-115221.jpg

20110628-115548.jpg

20110628-115741.jpg

20110628-115916.jpg

20110628-120043.jpg

7 thoughts on “A Mini Quilt for Our Mini Brophy

  1. I love it! What a great idea. I think I’ll give it a go perhaps as a gift for a friend’s baby or something? By the time I get around to it Charlie will have outgrown it- he prefers the more noisy toys already!! It’s beautiful Shannon :)

  2. Wow! That is so awesome! It looks even better since I saw it the other day! You really ARE very creative and I know he will love it! What a great idea!!! Yeah, this would be a great idea for a baby shower gift or whatever!

  3. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard
    to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this.

    In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome.
    Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

