Christianity / Rants and Raves

The Bible: Human Product or Divine Inspiration?

Sometimes I just feel like yelling “Aaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh!” from a mountain top because of things that I hear Christians say, quote, do, believe, and blindly adhere to.

At the risk of deeming myself unpopular and uncool, can I just say that as a Christian I don’t understand how a person who puts their faith in Christ can justify any school of thought that says that the Bible is just another book on the shelf, a mere product of the human mind?

We just finished our moving sale this afternoon and there are about a zillion things I could be doing, but I have to get this out of my head and writing is the way I do it.

I don’t have time to go into a lengthy discussion to back up my reasoning tonight, but any Bible-based Christian scholar would agree with this simple blog post. My main thought is this: if the Bible is just another book written by humans, why in the world am I attempting to live my life according to God’s way as it is laid out in the words of this text? If that’s the case, what in it can I trust? if I don’t believe it is from God, what do I base my belief in Jesus Christ in? If it is not holy, if it is not inspired by God, then I guess I can do whatever I please and not bother to live in a way that teaches my son that in our home we will live according to God’s standards.

If Christians can’t take this Word seriously, why would we ever expect anyone to take us seriously when it comes to the things of God? You can’t pick and choose the parts of the Bible you like or dislike; you either believe it is God’s Word or you don’t. It is either Sacred or not.

Us Christians would do well to actually read the Word before we go diminishing it to an ancient text of nice thoughts. Because if it’s nothing more than old words on a page you should really find something else to base your faith upon.

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.” 2 Timothy 3:16

3 thoughts on “The Bible: Human Product or Divine Inspiration?

  1. What a powerful commentary, Shannon. And a wonderful reminder that we alone do not bear the burden of proving our faith…God’s Word is alive and active and sharper than any two edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit. His Holy Spirit reveals truth and opens eyes!

  2. Agreed!!! Part of the problem IS that MANY Christians don’t read the Bible for themselves. They count on “others” to feed the Word to them rather than allowing the Holy Spirit to reveal truths to them as THEY read it for themselves.
    That being said as you have written above “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.” 2 Timothy 3:16….AND THAT’S THE TRUTH…period, the end!

Leave a Reply

