Recipes

Garbanzo Bean, Cucumber and Tomato Salad

It’s a dreary, rainy day in Alaska today. We are moving to Texas in 11 days, our moving sale is over, our kitchen cabinets are nearly bare and although we saved a few necessary kitchen items, I’m having to be a little more simple in preparing meals since my kitchen is no longer full of the usual equipment and tools it once was.
Lunch for me usually consists of some sort of salad and today is no different. I am super easy when it comes to salads. I like it way simple and I hate most condiments, including dressing, so some would see my usual lunches and think “Wow! How boring can you get?!” But today I needed to switch it up a bit so instead of a green salad with a couple things on it I opted for something a bit more exciting: a Mediterranean salad of garbanzo beans, cucumbers, tomatoes, olives, feta and spices. And I even drizzled a little homemade dressing on it. As I stirred it all together in the one big bowl we have left, I laughed to myself because I was stirring with a small plastic spoon. Oh the joys of transition! ;)

Ingredients:

2 cups prepared garbanzo beans
1 cucumber, diced
5 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
1/2 cup sliced olives (today I used black olives because that’s all I had on hand, but I would have used kalamata olives if I’d had them)
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
2 teaspoons Mediterranean spice blend
2 teaspoons dried oregano
Feta and lemon wedges for garnish

Preparation:

In a large bowl, combine beans, cukes, tomatoes and olives (with your handy dandy plastic spoon if you’re in the middle of moving like we are!). Set aside.

In a small bowl, combine olive oil, lemon juice and spices. Whisk well and drizzle over salad ingredients. Stir to mix (again with that nifty, bendy plastic spoon!).

Top with feta and lemon wedges. Enjoy!

I will be enjoying this Summery lunch salad for the rest of the week! Maybe it will get sunny and actually feel like Summer.

20110712-122847.jpg

2 thoughts on “Garbanzo Bean, Cucumber and Tomato Salad

  1. Pingback: Garbanzo Bean, Tomato and Cucumber Salad | merveilleux sans gluten

Leave a Reply

