Apartment Living / Craft Tutorials / Decorating / Life / Marriage / Memories

MR & MRS Wall Hangings

Switching gears decor-wise has taken me longer than I anticipated as far as deciding on the elements of detail to incorporate into my French vintage theme. First of all, let me just say, I have no regrets about this style change; I love it! I love the quirky mixture of shabby vintage combined with classy elegance in a sort of French country design. This hodgepodge of some of my favorite styles is what makes our place feel comfortable and homey to us, and also exudes that eclectic old world charm.

That being said, sometimes the mixing of different elements is the most difficult to do well without understating OR overstating. Basically, I think about a lot of ideas that I pin on Pinterest, see in design magazines, in shops and let time run its course. And then at some point I’m ready to commit to an idea and nine times out of ten, it ends up in a pretty good thing!

Our bedroom is one area that has been on my brain a lot because before this weekend, I just had one thing on the walls; our gallery wrap of wedding photos that Shawna Shields photographed and designed for us. (Let me just say that Shawna is the best photographer and we wish we could fly he
r down to Texas every time we want a photography session! If you’re in Alaska, look her up for all your photography needs. She and all the girls at Narrow Road productions are wonderful!) We love this wrap! It is the same mix of grunge and pretty that we adore so much, and I’ve been wanting to add something else to hang with it.

Those of you who know us know that music is a big part of who we are. Nathan plays the guitar, I play the keyboard/piano and we both sing. Our days are filled with music, whether that be from albums of our favorite artists or just us bursting out into song. We love music! So I decided to incorporate this into our bedroom.

I had some thick 8 x 10 picture frames that I decided would be perfect for the bedroom. I mod-podged sheet music onto a thin piece of cardboard and let it dry. Then I took wooden letters (“MR” & “MRS”) and painted them antique white, which I wanted for my base color.

One of my favorite distressing techniques is to use Vaseline over a base color on a painting project. All you do is get a dab of it on your finger and lightly rub it on your piece that has been painted with a base color. You just want to rub it where you want it distressed, so edges and corners are perfect places for this. Then you need to paint a top color over this (2 coats…I used black for this top color). When the piece has completely dried, you can then take medium-grit sandpaper and lightly rub. The places where you’ve rubbed Vaseline will be easily sanded off and you will have a beautifully distressed item in a fraction of the time, with no fuss. Wipe the piece clean and seal with a varnish.

I then simply hot-glued my letters onto the mod-podged sheet music over cardboard and inserted into my frames. This was so inexpensive, fast to do and it has added a lot to our otherwise boring bedroom walls. There is now an arrangement over our bed instead of just one small thing plopped up there on that big empty wall. And best of all, it’s done in our style with a nod to some of our favorite things: music and vintage!

You’ll notice that I’ve strategically cropped these photos so you can’t see a whole lot of the rest of the room because I’m not even close to done decorating it. :) The next things I’ll be working on in there are refinishing our nightstands. I’m also trying to decide on a headboard project. I’ve got some great ideas, but no commitment to one yet. Should be fun!

Oh and for those of you wondering, our duvet cover and shams are the Pintuck Duvet from West Elm. I love this duvet because it is so similar to my pintucked wedding dress! Nathan even said the same thing the first time he saw it in the store at Mockingbird Station, which I think is funny because guys don’t normally notice things like that. At least he doesn’t.

Sometimes small projects can make a huge difference in the appearance of a room. When you incorporate things you love and things that are personal to you into those projects, it makes that difference even greater and the space that much homier for you to spend time in!

2 thoughts on “MR & MRS Wall Hangings

  1. I am really impressed with your writing talents as smartly as with the format in your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great weblog like this one today..

Leave a Reply

