Bible / Christianity / Family

His Eye is on the Sparrow

I’m sitting at my dining room table alone, in the dark, drinking my beloved amaretto espresso, thankful for a backlit keyboard on my MacBook Pro, otherwise I wouldn’t be typing this. It’s a little after 7am on a rainy Saturday, my baby’s snoozing in his crib after a fitful night of so-called sleep (doesn’t he have enough teeth already?!), my mom’s here visiting for the weekend, her noise machine is roaring (we sleep with a noise machine, too, but hers is over-the-top LOUD!) and my hubby is on his way to pick-up our weekly order of produce from our co-op; it’s a great morning and I’m the only one awake here at home. Seven in the morning on a Saturday may seem early to you, and I would agree, but this is normal life for us. We woke up before the alarm went off at 6am, Judah stayed asleep through my entire workout (!!!) and we’re off to a good start!

I’m relishing in the fact that this has been and still is a great week! The best we’ve had in a long time, actually, and it’s all because of this one realization: God knows us. Do you ever feel like the prayers you’re sending up to the throne fall on deaf ears and maybe don’t even make it that far to begin with? Every season in life is so different and sometimes so multi-faceted that while it can be wonderful in many ways, it can also be not-quite-so-wonderful in other ways and all at the very same time. It’s a phenomenon of life, I think.

Well, I’ll spare all the details for now because I hear a stirring coming from Judah’s room, but let me just say this: when God answers prayers, sometimes he does it so “behind the scenes” we don’t realize it’s even him…BUT sometimes he answers and the only explanation is IT IS HIM.

I’m smiling right now as I think about that old hymn “His Eye is on the Sparrow”. Do you know it?

Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heav’n and home,
When Jesus is my portion? My constant Friend is He:
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free,
For His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

I haven’t thought of that song in years. Until this quiet morning.

Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life? Matthew 6:26-27

Leave a Reply

