Life

Motivating Monday: Taking the Time

As I type, the wind is howling outside to the point that I’m wondering if we should put the patio furniture away until the impending storm blows over so it doesn’t blow our table and chairs into our windows, my baby is snoozing in his room and my husband is sitting next to me reading the second book of The Hunger Games series.

Today also marks the 10th day of Papaw being in the hospital after falling and breaking his hip. His future is uncertain at this point and I wonder how this all will resolve. As if losing my dad wasn’t enough to teach me, Papaw being in this situation is another reminder of me to cherish every moment with all of those I love and to be the person I know I am meant to be. I think we get these reminders every so often throughout life and the older I get, the more I try to take hold of them. It’s interesting how the human mind can become so entwined with the frivolous, meaningless things of life and in all the busyness forget what matters most.

My motivation on this stormy Spring Monday is to spend this week making some phone calls, sending some notes and saying an extra “I love you” to some family and friends that I haven’t in awhile.

You should, too.

The only thing we’ll regret IF something happens between now and then…whenever THEN is…is that we didn’t take the time…

Leave a Reply

