Childbirth / Fashion / Fitness / Motherhood

Brazil Workout: Week 2 in Review

Okay, I am so loving this program! It’s fun, Leandro is entertaining with his quirky Portuguese accent and expressions, I’m feeling energized and I’m seeing results. I’ve lost 6 pounds the past two weeks and 1 pant size this week. That is motivating! My closet is full of clothes that are either too big or too small right now, which is a good problem to have when it has taken me quite awhile to make it back to pre-baby weight, but I’m nearly there!

Yesterday I slipped on a pair of brand new jeans that I’ve never worn because I bought them at the beginning of my pregnancy, I started bloating right away and never felt comfortable wearing them…til now! I haven’t changed how I’m eating at all because I have been eating pretty well for quite awhile anyway, except for Friday or Saturday when we go out to eat and I order whatever I want. And we have dessert of some kind, usually frozen yogurt because it’s a tradition in our household!

My favorite workout of the Brazil Butt Lift program is High & Tight. If I had time to do this one every day in addition to what’s on the schedule, I would. But I don’t. I stick to the calendar and I just can’t extend every day’s workout another 35 minutes most days. Leandro has tweaked some traditional exercises and created some of his own moves that really work the muscles from every angle. I love that many of the moves focus on combining balance, upper body and core strength in addition to working that booty, which is why this is just an all around great full body workout. I walked 3 days this week and every step up all those hills reminded me of all the work I’ve put in lately. Hurts so good!

Back to the baby weight issue…those of you who didn’t lose your baby weight in 2 months like your best friend or cousin did, don’t fret! Just like every pregnancy and baby, we’re all different. Some mommies lose it fast, some lose it slow and some just don’t lose it. I think being confident and comfortable in your own skin is a lot more important than what size you’re wearing. A lot easier said than done, I know! Kasi, a good friend of mine, wrote about this very thing this week on her blog and I love what she had to say because she is genuinely someone who values people equally and makes them feel good about themselves, inside and out. Check it out here: Unspoken Confidence.

I feel like this subject is one of the hardest to talk about, or write about, rather, because there are so many stigmas about different types and shapes of people, so many different views and it’s just plain awkward to discuss sometimes. Here’s my main thought, which Kasi’s post got me thinking about: I want to be dedicated to living a rightly balanced life in every area…spiritually, mentally, emotionally and physically…and I want my son to grow up seeing me live that as well as I can. I don’t think we can experience abundant life without a proper balance of everything, because if one thing gets a lot of attention while another gets little attention, something will be lacking somewhere and it’s bound to come out eventually. As in the words of Dr. Seuss, “Life’s a great balancing act.” 

When I think of the best times in my life, including now, I realize this: those times are always marked by prioritizing the right things. This is when I feel the most confident, the most at peace and the most myself, no matter the size of my jeans or the number on my scale. And that’s how it should be, don’t you think? It just makes sense.

Don’t neglect your soul on a quest for the perfect body. Don’t neglect your body on the journey of life, for it is a temple. And for heaven’s sake, you are beautiful and don’t you forget it!

Leave a Reply

