Beauty / Fitness / Health

Brazil Workout: Week 3 in Review

“People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing — that’s why we recommend it daily.” This is one of my favorite quotes from Zig Ziglar and it applies to all sorts of things, from business to the subject of this post—intentionally choosing a healthy lifestyle.

I’m really happy with the changes in my body as this 3rd week of my Brazil Butt Lift workout is coming to a close and that alone is enough to motivate me to keep up with it, but that doesn’t mean that every single day I’m just dying to put one of those DVDs in. Most days I look forward to it, but some days I don’t. Those are the days that I’ve got to muster up some motivation in some shape or form and just do it! Like most of us, those are the days that require the most inspiration; it’s a conscious effort to motivate myself and those are the days I feel most accomplished once my workout is over. I’d say those are the days that are most important in keeping on track for the long run.

I lost another 3 pounds this week, making my total weight loss in the last three weeks 9 pounds. I know that the suggested weight loss for people is usually around 2 pounds per week, but I feel like 3 pounds a week is reasonable for me. And I figure everyone is different. Plus, I had plateaued for so long previous to beginning this workout that an extra pound a week is not going to bother me any!

And while we’re on the subject, have you ever heard anything along the lines of each person’s body composition being 70% diet and 30% exercise? Or 80%/20%? Regardless of the exact percentages, I know this is absolutely true for me.  Exercise is definitely key for increasing the body’s ability for fat burning, strengthening and toning (which obviously makes a person look all around better), but you can still lose fat and excess weight by simply eating right. In a typical day, here’s an example of what I consume:

Breakfast (6am): Toast with butter OR oatmeal and berries OR scrambled eggs with veggies, espresso with a splash of cream

Snack (9am): Celery sticks

Lunch (12pm): Romaine and Spinach Salad with Cucumber, Red Bell Pepper, Olives, Feta, Italian Seasoning, splash of oil & vinegar

Snack (3pm): espresso with a splash of cream, green apple and a handful of raw almonds

Dinner (6pm): Lemon Chicken and Fresh and Roasted Veggies

As you can see, I don’t cut out carbs completely, but if I do have them, it’s almost always in the morning and not in the evening. I go through cycles of low-carb eating and then cycles of eating a bit more carbs. I also drink a LOT of ice water. I’d say I range anywhere from 1200-1400 calories a day right now. I don’t religiously count calories daily, but if I veer too far from my norm then I do keep track to see where I’m at and if I’m quite a bit over one day, the next day I try to balance it out with less. A lot of the time, I don’t actually need to count calories, I just pay attention to how my body feels, which is actually an excellent gauge. I feel best and most energetic eating fresh, unprocessed foods, lots of veggies and some fruit, protein, good fats and few grains. Our way of eating is closest to a Paleo diet the majority of the time. It feels awesome to eat this way and by now it’s second nature.

The “Sculpt” workout is my favorite of the week. What I love about this one is that Leandro has created the workout to include a lot of compound movements which work a number of muscle groups. For instance, my favorite exercise is one where you’re doing a dumbbell shoulder press with one arm while lifting the opposite leg to the side, and then as you bring the dumbbell down, you bring the leg behind the other into a curtsey. So instead of just working the upper body, you’re working your arms, shoulders, butt and thighs. And since there’s so much balance required with this compound move, you’re also working your core, which works those abs. Movements like this make the most of your time, work more muscle groups and burn more calories.

Be encouraged in your fitness journey today. No matter what level you consider yourself, no matter what that number on the scale says, no matter what size of clothes you slipped on today, hard work pays off and good health is worth far more than everything else you’re working out for. If you make a mistake, don’t dwell on it. Make it up to yourself the next chance you get and keep going in the right direction.

When inspiration is no where to be found, scrape up some motivation and inspire yourself!

Leave a Reply

