Christianity / Family / Life / Rants and Raves

Careful Not to Make it Your Own

Some days I’m blessed by the love and wisdom portrayed in people from whom I would expect such things to flow, but other days I’m beyond disappointed; unfortunately today is one of those disappointing days.

Standing up for what’s pure and holy and Christ-like is always the right path to take. Often lonely, but always right. It’s very difficult to see the opposite kinds of fruit come from people who profess to be holy. It makes no sense.

Some people will try and justify their words and actions, no matter what the cost and some even in the name of “righteousness”. But the fruit of these people proves the heart.

Isn’t it possible to love people and have the fruit of the Spirit shine through us, even when we absolutely disagree with how they’re acting and living? Isn’t this the example Jesus set for us to follow? How then can we write people off because of an offense someone else has with them when it doesn’t even directly concern us?

In the middle of a mess, Jesus taught that we can love even our enemies and pray for those who persecute us (Matt. 5:43). Can’t we love someone else’s enemy and pray for them without them becoming our enemy? Absolutely. With the fruit of the Spirit and the power of God manifested in our hearts, it’s possible.

I think we would all do well to take a step back and see through God’s perspective. Be careful not to take on another person’s offense toward someone else and make it your own. That’s a dangerous place to be and breeds nothing but destruction.

My heart breaks for situations and circumstances some people get themselves involved into. But I refuse to stand by idly and be swayed to act out in anger or completely shun another person because someone else has, even when I don’t condone their behavior. We can choose to live peaceably with everyone, as much as it depends on us (Rom. 12:18).

Jesus’ example of love and light and truth made evident in our lives is more important than having the last word or appeasing everyone who has an opinion about us.

He is the way… (Jn. 14:6)

3 thoughts on “Careful Not to Make it Your Own

  1. That’s funny, I very very lightly touched on that in a post I wrote an hour or so ago :) I didn’t want to rail off on it so I kept it light with: if you look for disappointment, we will always find it! I think it’s just part of being in the human race. We’re weak, thank God, He is strong! If I can remember that about myself it helps when others are also… not so perfect, LoL! Enjoy your evening!

    • (Sorry in case I didn’t make myself clear -the end of the day my brain slows down-… I think I understand where you are coming from. Actually, there are a couple taboo subjects I always find myself wondering about when it comes to Christians and what’s ok/not ok and how they justify either… in the end I’m just like. Holy Spirit, do your thing. And usually peace comes!) :)

      • I knew what you were getting at, but thanks for the clarification. :) In the end, it’s all up to God and I pray that I intentionally choose to have the right heart in every circumstance. I just read your blog and I was like, “Yes…you will find it if you’re looking for it, that’s for sure.” Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

