Apartment Living / Decorating

The All-Season Wreath

I had a {friendly} disagreement with one of my best friends last night over the new addition to my living room wall; the all-season wreath. To Candace, a wreath is a Christmas decoration. And Candace hates Christmas anything until Thanksgiving has passed. I, on the other hand, love Christmas year round!

BUT I don’t think that every wreath is a Christmas decoration. So when I saw this stick wreath in the trash can area of my grandmother’s garage last weekend, I asked if I could have it and she said “Of course!” Truly, what is one person’s trash is another person’s treasure. There were several faded flowers and crunchy, partially broken eucalyptus leaves on the old thing and my husband asked what I was going to do with it. I just looked at him and he answered his own question with a smile and “Oh, you have a cute idea, huh?” He knows me so well.

I originally thought I’d make some burlap flowers and attach in a cluster on the bottom left section of the wreath, and then decided against it. So I painted this big “B” brick red and tied it onto the wreath with a piece of burlap garland (some of the same I wrapped around our Christmas tree).

This wall above our TV has been bugging me and I wanted to take up some wall space with something decorative, but also not make it too busy since I have quite a collage of framed photographs on the wall directly behind our couch. I have always felt that the wall above the TV is consistently the most difficult wall to arrange as far as decor and balance in any living room, even if the TV is encased by an entertainment center or something similar.

The splash of the red “B” on this wall helped to bring my color scheme together between the living room, dining room and kitchen, which is all open to each other. I also needed a place to hang the wall hangings I made last year (and have since glazed again using a champagne-colored paint), and I think hanging them with the wreath keeps the perfect balance of that slightly-rustic-weathered-and-still pretty-look in our living room that I love so much. And by simply tying the burlap onto the wreath and letter instead of hot-gluing anything, I can change this wreath according to season! You can bet that it will look like a Christmas wreath when the holiday season is here, and no one will wonder then if it is a Christmas wreath or an all-season wreath! ;)

So what do you think? Are wreaths strictly Christmas decor to you, or do you enjoy them year round?

5 thoughts on “The All-Season Wreath

  1. Although one of the things I love about Candace is her appreciation for Thanksgiving and how it deserves its full recognition before the awesome Christmas season…that is a cute wreath and I agree it should be there all year : ) Super cute!

  2. I don’t know how I missed this blog…but I love what you did with the wreath….and I don’t think wreaths are just for Christmas, unless it is a Christmas wreath!

Leave a Reply

