Apartment Living / Craft Tutorials / Decorating

Toddler Chest of Drawers Makeover

the finished product in J’s room

I have been wanting and needing to makeover this old Bassett chest of drawers for Judah’s room, but haven’t had the opportunity to until now. I wanted to continue with the vintage theme, incorporate the harlequin pattern that I’ve used on several other pieces prior and use neutral colors to compliment his white bed and the teal, orange, navy and burlap accents already in his room.

before…forgot to snap a picture before the hubs removed the hardware!

The last few things I’ve refinished I have spray-painted and I have to say I’m happier with the outcome and the times it saves me in doing so. I found a great, thorough article about spray-painting furniture that tells you everything you need to know about prepping, painting and finishing that I read before I ever tried this method. You can read it here: How To Spray Paint Furniture at She Knows.

I really love the vintage-style apothecary cabinets with numbered drawers, so that was my original inspiration for Judah’s chest, but I’ve also really been wanting to do something in his room with the alphabet. I began by lightly sanding the chest, priming it and coating it about 7 times with Krylon’s satin white spray paint.

I used two different sets of stencils and three shades of paint for the letters and numbers (Barn Wood, Mississippi Mud and Toasted Vanilla) after the white paint had dried for a full 24 hours. The next night, I lightly sanded and distressed all of the edges on each of the drawers and all of the letters and numbers. I finished it up with a few coats of polyurethane and called it good.

So this was the incorporation of several ideas that came together quite nicely to make Judah’s room a little more homey for him. He’s still learning his numbers and ABCs, but it’s super cute to see him recognizing them on his chest now!

a few of our favorite things: vintage books passed down from the 50s to me and now J, a little vintage suitcase and some zoo friends

2 thoughts on “Toddler Chest of Drawers Makeover

Leave a Reply

