Christianity / Motherhood

“Tis So Sweet”

Image

Being the mother of my child is a living lesson on the definition of “oxymoron”; Judah is the most strong-willed, sweet, stubborn, affectionate, tempestuous, even-keeled little person I believe I’ve ever met. If you’ve spent much time with him, you know exactly what I mean. Just watching him live life is like a fascinating rollercoaster ride that I never want to stop. (Well, let’s not get carried away…sometimes I DO want him to stop.) He’s so much wrapped up into this little 2.5 year old body of his! I’m sure a lot of parents could say the same for their own children.

Nathan and I alternate nights that we tuck Judah into bed. We keep the routine pretty much the same: we all sit on the couch together, read a few books, talk, then whoever’s turn it is takes Judah into his room and we spend a few more minutes talking, cuddling, praying and singing. This is by far usually one of my favorite times of day, not because Nathan and I are about to finally enjoy some down time, but because oftentimes, no matter what our day has actually been like, this 15 to 20 minutes or so is filled with sweetness and peace (never mind about those nights we get to deal with tantrums about not wanting to go to bed!).

On Nathan’s nights, I hear a lot of giggles and “Okay, shhhhh!” coming from Judah’s  bedroom and they always pray for a baby sister (among other things), while on my nights we do a lot more singing and praying for things that don’t have the potential to keep Mommy up all hours of the night. Interestingly, Judah’s favorite songs for me to sing at bedtime aren’t lullabies or ballads, they’re hymns. This strikes a comical chord in me because this child loves to dance and rock out to all kinds of energetic and dynamic music during the day, but at night he just wants to hear some old-fashioned hymns. And I say that in all fondness; I love hymns. Yes, I love my church and I love their cutting edge worship songs that are as equally Bible-based as many of the old hymns, but I secretly wish they’d add in a few more hymns anyway.

Back to my child’s bedtime routine. Tonight our hymn of choice was “Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus”. Do you know it?

Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to take Him at His Word;
Just to rest upon His promise,
And to know, “Thus saith the Lord!”

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!

How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er;

Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!

Oh, for grace to trust Him more!

Oh, how sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to trust His cleansing blood;
And in simple faith to plunge me
’Neath the healing, cleansing flood!

Yes, ’tis sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just from sin and self to cease;
Just from Jesus simply taking
Life and rest, and joy and peace.

I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,
Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;
And I know that Thou art with me,
Wilt be with me to the end.

Tonight while singing those words with my toddler, I was amazed all over again by the blessings of God. So many times things don’t happen exactly as we expect them to and we get discouraged, failing to see the hand of Jesus in our lives because of what is or what is not happening. This weekend as Nathan and I talked about the last few years, I was blown away as I looked back and realized just how many twists and turns we’ve faced, both good and seemingly not-so-good at the time, and for every single one I can say “Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus…”

There’s such peace in knowing you are where you’re supposed to be, doing what you’re supposed to be doing and doing it all with the people you’re supposed to be doing it with. I’m so thankful for my son who is a constant reminder of what child-like faith truly looks like. In fact, he has been since the day he was born. 

6 thoughts on ““Tis So Sweet”

  1. So precious, Shannon. I love that we can pass on anointed music to the next generation whether or not they hear it much on Sunday morning. Another one of the blessed gifts of motherhood.

  2. This is so sweet. Judah is so fortunate to have you both for parents….God fearing, Jesus loving parents! Of course, we are all fortunate as well to have lil Judah. He’s definitely the most precious gift to our family! This picture has been my all time favorite of him and I remember that day so well when we laid him on the couch for a nap. I love how you can see his widow’s peak in this pic too.
    Precious child, precious parents!

  3. We find we sing the same thing. :) All those years as a child complaining about these old songs …lol and now as an adult they are the first songs and sometimes the only songs I know all the words of and so comforting :) Judah is a blessed little guy!

Leave a Reply

