Holidays / Motherhood

Happy Mother’s Day!

these boys made me a mommy! hahaWhat can I say about this job called “Mother”? I suppose at every stage of our children’s lives we take on many different roles; for me, as Mommy to my 2.5 year old I am entertainer, personal chef, owie-kisser, snugglemonster, playdate coordinator, clothing taylor and outfit coordinator, hair stylist, lizard and bug finder, bodyguard, boogie-wiper, hand-holder and personal assistant for a wide variety of other duties including, but not limited to, administrative, clerical and scheduling support. Never in all my life have I been so stretched in my own personality and capacity to take care of a million things at once! I also had no idea I could overflow with love for someone so much and simultaneously want to scream at the top of my lungs while pulling my hair out. But that’s life. ;)IMG_5137 IMG_5139

outdoor xylophone!

outdoor xylophone!

my little photographer took this of me...this kid just might be famous some day

my little photographer took this of me…this kid just might be famous some day

IMG_5129 IMG_5125

It’s interesting to think of myself before I became a mom. I considered myself loving and pretty selfless and even patient…ummmm, not quite. Mothering has highlighted the very best and very worst parts of myself, kind of how marriage does for newlyweds! I think when there’s such a deep level of love, closeness and transparency between a couple or within a family, everything is eventually exposed for what it is. At least that’s been the case for our little family. It has also caused me to realize my great NEED for God’s presence in my life! I cannot imagine trying to be Judah’s Mommy without him.¬†And that’s a really great thing.

Not only has motherhood caused me to grow exponentially, it has given me great appreciation and gratitude for my own mother and grandmothers! I understand what my mom meant when she would say “You’ll always be my baby” as I was growing up. Her role has definitely changed as the mother of an adult with my own family, but she’ll always be Mom to me. I would not be the mom I am today if not for her influence in my life! What a gift she is.

The other night I decided to make a more exciting dinner than usual, and we invited Mom as a little bit of a pre-Mother’s Day celebration, so Judah and I spent a good part of our day preparing for it. We decided on our favorite: Mexican food! We started with a chipotle lime marinade for chicken breasts, then we made pineapple salsa and finally, I experimented with trying to make avocado cilantro crema inspired by something similar that’s served at Taco Diner, a fresh Mexican restaurant in Southlake Town Square. It was a yummy meal and although the crema didn’t turn out exactly like Taco Diner’s, it was really good and actually more flavorful.Chipotle Lime Marinade from The Slow Roasted Italian

I just cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces, marinated for 6 hours and the sauteed on the stovetop until it was cooked through. We served the chicken on warmed corn tortillas and garnished with the pineapple salsa and avocado cilantro crema, both listed below.

Pineapple Salsa, a recipe my brother-in-law, Dan, made for us when he was visiting back in September

1/2 of a pineapple, diced

1/2 of a red pepper, diced

1/2of an orange pepper, diced

1/2 of a purple onion, diced

1 jalapeno, minced

1/2 a bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped

Juice of 1/2 of a lime

Salt to taste

Combine all ingredients in a serving bowl, allow to chill and serve! The day I made this, I actually ate a bowl of the salsa like a salad for lunch. What can I say, I love fresh food!

Avocado Cilantro Crema, my own experimental recipe

2 avocados, very ripe and mashed

1 bunch of cilantro, tough stems removed

1/2 cup of Crema Mexicana

1/2-1 cup of nonfat milk

dash of salt, garlic powder and paprika

juice of 1/2 a lime

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. For thicker crema, use less milk, for thinner, use more milk. I am definitely going to be tweaking this recipe in the future, possible eliminating the crema Mexicana and lime, substituting Greek yogurt. I’m not sure. BUT this was an excellent variation on typical guacamole with a lot of flavor. We ate it on our tacos and dipped chips into it.

We haven’t been eating hardly any dairy lately, so this was quite a change to what has become our norm, but it was a nice treat. Now we’re back to almond milk. :)

So we not only got to celebrate Mother’s Day the day of, we also took several other opportunities to do so this week. I hope you were able to enjoy your special day, all of you mothers!

IMG_5108 IMG_5110

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. That was delish!! I loved all of it!
    Shannon, I truly am so proud of the mother you have become! It is pretty amazing what all you can do at once, huh? Sometimes, it strikes me funny that God gave you a boy the way you love lizards, bugs; and especially “cy-ders”, lol. (especially with Judah LOVING all those creepy things)!!
    Even though at times, it seems kinda sad my kids grew up so quick, it’s such a blessing to see how your role has changed as well and now a mother yourself! And a wonderful one at that!!
    Thank you for the wonderful Mother’s Day! I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

