Family / Life / Memories / Motherhood

Truly Great Grandparents

mimi and i on her birthday

mimi and i on her birthday

This past week and weekend was one of celebration, reminiscing and creating new memories with my grandparents. I’m so blessed that Judah has had the opportunity to know his great-grandparents and he’s old enough now that the memories we’re making now will be some he’ll remember for the rest of his life! I love that.

On the 25th of July, my maternal grandma turned 75 (sorry, Mimi, when you look that good at 3/4 of a century, I figure you should be proud of your age!), so we spent the day together celebrating. Judah probably told her “Happy Birthday” 17 times. He loves birthdays!

Saturday, the 27th marked the one year anniversary of Mimi’s husband’s death. Although he was not a blood relative, Papaw quickly became part of our family years ago. We miss his quiet, gentle spirit, but are so thankful he’s well and home with the Lord.

This weekend we finally made a long overdue trip up to Oklahoma City to see some other family. We need to go up more often, but traveling with an almost 3-year-old is difficult, despite the necessities like DVD players, toys and snacks. Seriously, WHAT did you parents do before technology became so readily available?!

Since Grandma Rosie, my dad’s mom, isn’t online (she is 88, after all!), she doesn’t get to keep up with all the pictures and videos I post, so she really had a ball catching up with Judah. I’ve vowed to send her more real mail so she can follow him more closely. We got together with one of my sisters, her husband and two kids with Grandma, too. My niece and nephew are so cute and Judah loves to show off for all of them. One of my favorite moments with Grandma this weekend was telling her about the book I’m writing about Daddy. I love talking with her about my dad, my uncle, my grandpa Richard and others who have already gone before us. She has had a full life and is so at peace with what matters most.

We also got to see Grandpa John. The funniest thing to me about this trip was Judah’s natural inclination to joke and tease Grandpa about various things because my brother and I grew up doing that! Judah has a very funny, prank-loving way about him, but this dynamic was definitely magnified around Grandpa. They were so hilarious together and Grandpa even let Judah comb his “whicksers” over and over again, as J liked to call his mustache. We were all rolling on the floor laughing.

And lastly, we went over to see Mimi and Memaw yesterday afternoon because Judah was insistent about believing they had a surprise for him (because they usually do) and he ended up getting a slobbery lollipop stuck in Mimi’s big Texas hair. Oops! Never a dull moment.

It’s been several days of moments I will remember forever of my grandparents! They are truly Judah’s GREAT grandparents!

judah and mimi on her birthday

judah and mimi on her birthday

papaw and judah christmas day 2011

papaw and judah christmas day 2011

road trip!

road trip!

Judah and his Great Grandma Rosie

Judah and his Great Grandma Rosie

playing trucks

playing trucks

returning from a walk...don't be deceived...Grandma's dog was not waiting excitedly for the boys

returning from a walk…don’t be deceived…Grandma’s dog was not waiting excitedly for the boys

Grandma Rosie and I

Grandma Rosie and I

judah and his great grandpa john

judah and his great grandpa john

combing grandpa's "whicksers" hahaha

combing grandpa’s “whicksers” hahaha

bedtime stories

bedtime stories

at grandpa's church

at grandpa’s church

showing off

showing off

a lollipop stuck in Mimi's big Texas hair hahahahaha

a lollipop stuck in Mimi’s big Texas hair hahahahaha

Leave a Reply

