E Recipes / Recipes / THM Recipes

Simple Chicken Dinner

Years ago, when I started this blog, I posted a lot more recipes. So many, in fact, that I ended up creating a whole new blog, just for my gluten-free recipes. As my child grew and became more active, I had less and less time to keep up with two blogs, so now I’m back to just one blog, my original, and I figured I can start posting a recipe here and there. I love to cook for my family and friends, so this is just a little overflow from that.

This recipe is my go-to recipe when I haven’t had all afternoon to prepare something amazing. It’s healthy and light enough for me, but filling enough for my hubby, who eats all day long, almost anything he wants, and never gains an ounce. For those of you following Trim Healthy Mama, this is an “E”, so keep the portion of quinoa to 3/4 cup or less, which is more than enough.

This recipe feeds our little family of three with extra quinoa for using in lunches the next day or something. Believe it or not, my picky toddler gobbles this meal up!

a family favorite

a family favorite

Simple Chicken Dinner

Simple Chicken Dinner Printable

Ingredients:

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Seasonings of your choice, sprinkled on both sides of the chicken (my favorites are chili powder, cumin, garlic powder and onion powder all together — very Southwest-y)

4 cups chicken broth

2 cups quinoa (I buy all the colors and there is a slight difference in tastes to me, but not much…I usually decide which color to use based upon the other elements of the meal…we like pretty food ha!)

a handful of fresh Kale, torn into bite-sized pieces

a handful of chopped green onions

a dash of cayenne (cayenne if you like some heat, otherwise try paprika for a milder spicy bite)

lime for garnish and juice

Instructions:

Sprinkle your seasonings and spices on both sides of the chicken. Set aside.

Bring chicken broth to a boil in a medium-size saucepan. Throw in your quinoa, reduce heat and simmer 10-12 minutes on low.

While your quinoa is simmering, grill your chicken.

When quinoa is finished, add your kale, green onions and cayenne. Stir.

Serve:

Serve chicken on quinoa and have a small side salad with fresh veggies, drizzled with extra virgin olive oil (just a teaspoon if you’re keeping it an “E”) and vinegar.

Enjoy!

This post is linked up at: Graceful Abandon

Blog Signature

3 thoughts on “Simple Chicken Dinner

Leave a Reply

