Apartment Living / Homeownership / Life / Marriage / Motherhood / The Making of a Home

By Wisdom a House is Built

.

I love the Fall. Hands down, my favorite season. All the playing and fun we had this Summer, the memory-making and lack of schedules, trips here and there, enjoying a slower-paced life *most* weeks…it was amazing. But there’s something about the page on my calendar flipping from August to September that cheers my heart!

All the big dates in our family happen in the days and months leading up to the holidays; Judah’s birthday starts off the celebrations in September, Nathan’s birthday is in October, my birthday is in November, then we have Thanksgiving, our anniversary is just 2 weeks before Christmas, then New Year’s. A sweet whirlwind, even if the holidays weren’t sprinkled in there, too.

So while the Fall means more fun and festivities for us especially, the scent of maple popcorn candles wafting through the air and opening boxes of seasonal decor that I haven’t seen in nearly a year also re-energize me to focus on our home more…and although I do mean better housekeeping (Lord knows the Summer months aren’t so great in that regard!), I’m really talking about making these walls a home.

With Judah at school several days a week now, I’ve had more time here alone than ever before and it’s really nice and kind of weird, but so good for my pensive nature. I’m still settling into a routine myself on these kid-less days.

I’ve been these verses lately, especially today while I folded or hung 10 billion articles of clothing. You probably already know them.

By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established; through knowledge it’s rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures. -Proverbs 24:3-4

Unless the Lord builds the house, they labor in vain who build it. -Psalm 127:1

What makes a place a home? Is it the beautiful heirloom furniture passed down the generations? The perfect color schemes? Is it gallery walls hung precisely in each hallway and down the staircase? Is it the perfectly planned and well-designed floor plan?

I LOVE decorating and just looking at houses, inside and out. Always have. Mixing the old and the new, very distressed or chipped paint, that’s me for sure. Pretty and rustic, lived in. That’s our style. A little bit farmhouse-y…but without the farmhouse.

As I straightened up around here today, I prayed that the Lord would help me to really focus on his heart for our family, our home now, our house hunting for our hopefully soon-to-be home. I want people to walk in that front door and feel the weight fall off of their shoulders and know peace. I want everyone to experience the presence of the Lord every time they come over, because He dwells with us.

 

Leave a Reply

