Recipes / THM Desserts

{Healthy-ish} Apple Peach Crisp

Last week I was feeling a little guilty about being so preoccupied with packing and wrapping breakables and, you know, moving that I decided to take a little break from all that and make my hubby a yummy Fall treat, despite the fact that it is STILL. SO. HOT. Texas, I really hope you make up for it with this supposed great Winter everyone’s forecasting!

So I sliced up some apples…

Sliced apples

Blobbed a chunk of coconut oil in my big skillet…

photo 2

Sauteed my apples…
photo 3

Put them in a bowl with some canned peaches my friend Emily gave me (I think she and her mom canned 40 pounds of Parker County peaches this year!)…

photo 4

Dumped the fruit into my baking dish (actually two baking dishes because I always make enough of everything to feed an army!) and sprinkled with some brown sugar and cinnamon, and a mixture of oats and a little peach juice from the canned peaches…

photo 5

Baked on 350° for 20 minutes and voila! A warm Autumn treat for my little fam.photo 1-1

This was such a simple way to use that mound of apples overflowing my fruit bowl, as well as use up the last of our canned peaches from the Summer! And don’t you just love my vintage bakeware? I’m obsessed. These two pieces are actually in excellent condition.

I like to vary this recipe…often I’ll use blackberries and strawberries, omit the brown sugar and use Stevia extract powder in it’s place when I’m focusing on something a little healthier. With stevia, I’d consider this recipe a THM Crossover dessert. My husband especially likes any crisp served with a dollop of French Vanilla Blue Bell or straight cream. Who doesn’t?!

Ingredients:

3-4 medium sized apples, sliced

1-2 Tablespoons of coconut oil (use refined coconut oil if you don’t want the flavor of coconut)

3/4 cup canned peaches (optional…this recipe is just as good without the peaches if you don’t want to add them! add another fruit or make a simple apple crisp)

1 cup rolled oats (uncooked)

1/2 cup juice from the canned peaches

1/4 cup brown sugar or stevia extract powder to taste (err on the side of caution with stevia extract powder)

ground cinnamon

Directions:

1.Preheat oven to 350°. Melt coconut oil in your skillet. Throw in your sliced apples and saute until slightly brown and softened (not too brown or soft). I like to do about 4 minutes on medium-high heat, stirring constantly.

2. Dump your sauteed apples into a large bowl. Add canned peaches, reserving the juice. Stir to combine fruits and place in a baking dish (or two if necessary).

3. Add oats and peach juice together in a small separate bowl.

4. Sprinkle brown sugar, cinnamon and oat mixture evenly on top of fruit.

5. Bake in a preheated oven for 20 minutes.

6. Serve warm, and with a little ice cream or splash of cream for a really decadent treat!

Leave a Reply

